Hanno Boon Award

Prof. Johannes Marinus Boon
8 June 1970 – 13 December 2004

Award criteria:

  • Oral presentation
  • The presentation must be on some aspect of medical education (research or descriptive of current practice)
  • No age limit
  • The presenter has not won the same award in the preceding conference (unless there are no other qualifying presentations)

The prize:

  • Certificate
  • R 500

Award History:

This award is given in honour of Hanno Boon, who together with other ASSA colleagues, instituted the medical education time-slot into the annual ASSA programme. Prof. Johannes Marinus (Hanno) Boon, a member of the Department of Anatomy at the University of Pretoria was tragically murdered at the age of 34. His passing was deeply felt by all who were fortunate enough to know this exceptional man as colleague, teacher, researcher, medical practitioner and friend. After he graduated as medical doctor from the University of Pretoria and finished his internship, he completed a degree in Family Medicine, while working in the Emergency Rooms of both Pretoria Academic and Mamelodi Hospitals. Hanno was a dear and respected colleague, both to the members of the Department of Anatomy and the international community of Clinical Anatomists. He was a person with whom colleagues and students wanted to associate and work, not only to experience his enthusiasm and love for his subject, but also to share in his extensive knowledge about anatomy and the medical field. In his short career, Hanno achieved much more than most people achieved in a lifetime. In the words of the rector of the University of Pretoria, Prof Pretorius, Hanno was one of the shining new stars at the University. He will be truly missed.
[Meiring, J. 2004. Prof. Johannes Marinus (Hanno) Boon. South African Family Practice41 (1): 13.] https://doi.org/10.1080/20786204.2005.10873163

General rules applying to each Conference:

  • No single person will be considered for more than one award at any particular conference
  • If the presenter fits into more than one category (for example under 35 AND 1st time presenter) then the presenter must choose for which award they wish to be evaluated
  • If no qualifying presentations are given in a particular category then the award will not be made

Previous Winners (Past 10 Years):